PDA

View Full Version : Developing a mindset for our kids to go to/get into college

bisous
03-28-2016, 01:18 PM
DS1 is 12. He was with cousins yesterday for Easter and one of his cousins is already talking about getting ready to get into college. DS1 is completely oblivious to that kind of thinking, lol! I'm wondering if I'm missing something? Or is he just too young?

DH and I both attended college, as did our parents. I have an advanced degree. College is just something we want and anticipate for our kids. But we haven't talked about it a ton. I've had the discussion with DS1 about the importance of learning to get good grades in high school so he'll be prepared for college and get into a good one. That's about the extent of our discussion.

I thought this might make an interesting discussion.

What are you doing to get your kids ready for college and at what ages? What is your discussion about? What do you feel is "healthy" at various ages? Do you start at middle school? Before? When do grades "count" for you? What are your reasons? What about if you have a child with special needs? Anxiety? ADHD?

I'd love to hear the wisdom of the BBB.

Also, I cannot for the life of me remember where I read this but I read somewhere that the educational prospects of kids are best when the mother is highly educated. Can't remember the exact details. I just remember thinking that it rings true for my experience. My own mom was very into education (became a teacher) whereas DH's mom quit college to get married and have children. Her kids struggled with terrible grades but have gradually become quite successful. OTOH, my siblings all have at least a BA, two have an MA, and two are currently in PhD programs. What do you think?

minnie-zb
03-28-2016, 01:24 PM