PDA

View Full Version : Grand Canyon (North, South Rim), Lake Powell, Zion? Beginner Questions

liz
07-22-2016, 11:42 AM
We are planning a big trip next year (June) with DH's family- 14 people in total, from ages 7-80. We are absolute newbies to the area. As a group we have a few places on everyone's wish list. We are planning at least 8-10 days flying in from the east coast. We are also thinking of renting 3 minivans which would allow us to split up as desired, no need to stay together all the time. Hoping to find accommodations using VRBO, AirBnB etc. My biggest problem right now is that even with maps, its really hard for us to figure out exactly how far everything is from one another.

Below is a quote from the family email chain. Is this doable?

1. South rim … Antelope Canyon and Horseshoe Bend day tour. 5 stars on trip advisor. One of the things we all an do as an entire group. Look it up for details. Sounds really good. ($199A/$119C)
2. North Rim … Rim Trail. This is a free thing. Hiking is an easy level with many stops to view the canyon. There is also a shuttle that goes from stop to stop so if you want to walk one leg and ride the rest you can. free
3. Lake Powell (north rim)
4. Bryce Canyon (north rim)
5. Zion National Park (north rim)
6. Colorado River Float Trip - See the Hoover Dam, Lake Mead, Black Canyon, Hot Water Springs. It's an 11 mile float. ($160A/$150C)

Lastly, what airport/s should we fly in and out of?

aahh, thanks for any help, I'm really overwhelmed!

StantonHyde
07-22-2016, 01:30 PM
Go to www.fodors.com (http://www.fodors.com) and check out the community forums for great feedback and ideas. The best place to fly in and out of for you would be Vegas. Drive to the South Rim and spend 1-2 days there. You can hike along the rim and take the shuttle to various stops. You will want to stay at one of the lodges in the park.