PDA

View Full Version : How often does your 5th or 6th grader do math?

niccig
10-16-2016, 02:14 PM
I posted before to get advice for helping DS with math. I've had him bring him his workbook and notebooks. They did math on Monday then didn't do it again all week. DS says they don't do math often, same thing happened last year when he was in 5th grade. Several days would go before any math was done in class. I know how much the teacher has to cover in class, I work in a school and I'm often in the classroom. However, I still feel math should be done more often in class. I know there is little I can do about the frequency of the math lesson, so I've had DS do more practice at home. Just wondering if I'm out of line thinking in 6th grade math should be more than once a week.

JBaxter
10-16-2016, 02:16 PM
Nathan is in 7th but as in last year Math was daily

SnuggleBuggles
10-16-2016, 02:25 PM
Every day

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

schrocat
10-16-2016, 02:29 PM
My eldest is in 6th grade in middle school. He has a math class everyday taught by a specialized teacher.

HannaAddict
10-16-2016, 02:30 PM
Every day for every grade. When they were little some days less intense but math is a daily event. Last year, first year of middle school, daily too with one or two "double blocks" of longer math class. I would check with the teacher as that doesn't seem correct to do once a week. Don't they provide a schedule of weekly subjects and what time generally at if still in a classroom or a class schedule if go to different teachers? We've had one since kindergarten.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ett
10-16-2016, 02:36 PM
Every day.

ABO Mama
10-16-2016, 02:36 PM
Daily instruction with daily homework.

niccig
10-16-2016, 02:40 PM