PDA

View Full Version : Sometimes it does take a village

trales
10-20-2016, 10:39 AM
We are totally independent, do everything ourselves and NEVER ask for help kind of people. I just wanted to share b/c of all the recent threads on folks helping each other. I have had a nasty cold/cough for weeks (really over a month). The cough has been escalating. Yesterday at work (I am a professor at a local college) I started coughing so badly I was gagging got really light headed and tipped over. This of course was in the lecture hall in front of 32 chem students who are in allied health programs. I was sent to the local hospitals urgent care which happens to be next to our campus. I spent 4 hours there getting chest x-rays/ breathing treatments/ antibiotics and oxygen.

While I was there my coworkers figured out how to cover all my classes this week/ meetings/ clubs etc. I emailed a friend to pick up my kids and then she arranged kid care/ drop off and pick up for the rest of the week. I was shocked. I could not believe how many people jumped up and helped, without my even asking. It was so nice and reminded me just how wonderful people are.

I am home/ resting/ going stir crazy/ trying not to clean/ and coughing my brains out. The working diagnosis was reactive respiratory or pertussis. Those results will come in later, but they are treating it just in case. I have to say, the oxygen at the urgent care was amazing, everything else sucked, but I could get addicted to the oxygen.

Now I just have to keep myself from doing housework or raking leaves. . . .

KpbS
10-20-2016, 10:49 AM
Oh my! That is scary! So glad you could get quick medical treatment and weren't at home alone!

Thank goodness for all of the great, caring people in your life. Rest up and don't even think of doing the laundry or leaves! :hug: :hug:

Momit
10-20-2016, 10:51 AM