PDA

View Full Version : Genetic profile?

zukeypur
02-07-2017, 03:22 PM
DH is really interested in getting a 23 and Me type genetic profile, both for genealogy and medical reasons. I realize that the info we will receive doesn't guarantee the development/absence of any condition (I have a masters in Molecular Pathology-just putting that out there ;). We just want to do this for fun. Does anyone have any recommendations or experience with either this company or another one?

Charlie
02-07-2017, 03:52 PM
If you haven't already done so, you should google and read articles regarding concerns about what this company is doing or could be doing with this information so you make an informed decision about whether or not you are comfortable going forward.

petesgirl
02-07-2017, 03:56 PM
I got my parents the Ancestry. Com DNA kit for Christmas. The resulting info will be only for geanological purposes but I was reading somewhere that you can pay an extra fee (like $10 ish) to have the data sent out to another lab that will give more medical info... I need to look into that further for my parents.
So, I don't really have any useful info for you just throwing that out as another company to look into.

mikala
02-07-2017, 04:04 PM
If you haven't already done so, you should google and read articles regarding concerns about what this company is doing or could be doing with this information so you make an informed decision about whether or not you are comfortable going forward.
I agree with this, especially with the likely repeal of preexisting condition protections.

zukeypur
02-07-2017, 04:14 PM
The pre-existing condition ship has already sailed with us, unfortunately. DH and I would never be able to afford healthcare on our own if insurance companies are able to price based on health data. And that's with the stuff we know about.

marymoo86
02-07-2017, 04:22 PM
I'm so curious on this as well but not comfortable with the lack of privacy and data collection.

hillview