PDA

View Full Version : DS chipped a tooth

baymom
03-07-2017, 01:34 PM
DS got hit in the face at soccer practice yesterday and chipped his front (adult) tooth. He didn't say that it hurt, just that he got hit in the face with the ball, felt something gritty in his mouth, spit it out and then realized it was a part of his tooth. A jagged triangle is missing and the earliest appointment I could make was for tomorrow afternoon. I have no experience with this and was wondering if there are any special precautions we should take? Obviously, nothing tough to eat that requires biting off with his front teeth. Anything else?

rlu
03-07-2017, 01:55 PM
When DS chipped his tooth, the dentist had us watch to ensure the tooth didn't turn grey. Otherwise the chip didn't need bonding or intervention. DS was less than 2.

When I chipped my front tooth in 8th grade, the dentist put on a bond and painted it to match the rest of the tooth. It has been simple enough to live with, just can't eat sugar daddies or anything sticky like that with that front tooth. (eta: I can eat fine with my front teeth, there may have been a day or two after the bond was put on that I had to be careful, short-term though)

There is dental wax you can buy at CVS-type stores to coat the sharp edge if your DS is having trouble with it cutting his lip or tongue but with an appointment tomorrow you might not need it.

eta: this stuff, but the wax we bought was not flavored. https://www.cvs.com/shop/personal-care/oral-care/dental-accessories/cvs-mint-flavored-orthodontic-wax-prodid-933824?skuId=933824

smilequeen
03-07-2017, 02:04 PM
Stick to a soft diet and give him pain meds if he has pain...so just baby it until you are seen.

lil_acorn
03-07-2017, 02:05 PM
is it a baby or adult tooth? I wouldn't be overly concerned if baby; if adult, I think you need to watch to see if it turns grey.

khm
03-07-2017, 02:06 PM