PDA

View Full Version : Contact AP about my money?

bisous
08-30-2017, 10:09 AM
I'm a contractor and am currently awaiting a HUGE amount of money from one of my jobs. I was told that I'd be paid "in August" for my work. I have two days left in August and no sign of a direct deposit coming through any time soon. This money is very needed right now! I'm concerned that if I wait until Friday (of a long weekend) that I'll get no response from AP. Do I bug them now and just verify that the money will be coming through? I guess I'm thinking that if they catch an error now I might have money by the weekend. DH, who works at the same company that I contract through, thinks I should NOT ask about it now. The account I'm working on has new people and they're not fans of my project. WWYD? Bug them and ensure payment or don't and therefore don't risk the ire of the department that employs you?

TwinFoxes
08-30-2017, 10:57 AM
I would take your DH's word, since he works at the company and presumably knows the culture, over the words of well-meaning internet people.

bisous
08-30-2017, 11:12 AM
I would take your DH's word, since he works at the company and presumably knows the culture, over the words of well-meaning internet people.

Hah! True. Plus he's really business savvy. I just want my money, lol.

HannaAddict
08-30-2017, 10:41 PM
Bugging someone for money before it's officially due would be highly annoying to many departments or companies. And it isn't their problem you have a cash flow issue. Many companies pay close to the date but not always right on it. But reminding them before it is due is not a good practice. Need to try and work it a budget that doesn't depend on getting money exactly on a date when you are a contractor. Hope it comes through for you though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bisous
08-30-2017, 10:48 PM