PDA

View Full Version : Do your DC's class have a closed group on FB? Have you joined?

moonsky
08-31-2017, 08:26 PM
I am not into the social media. DC just started the school and the class has a closed group on FB. Any experience?

Green_Tea
08-31-2017, 08:44 PM
I am a teacher and a parent. Social media has played a huge role in my ability to keep up with what's going on with my kids at school. It's how I have found out about almost everything over the past eight years. As a teacher it makes it MUCH easier to keep in touch with families and share pictures. I think it's pretty much par for the course to expect that people will have social media, much like we started assuming that people had email 20 years ago.

mom2binsd
08-31-2017, 08:45 PM
Not the class, the school PTO has a facebook page which is very helpful for finding out stuff!

I love using social media for things like the Nextdoor app, buying and selling with neighbors and finding out what's happening (good and bad) around the neighborhood.

I also love facebook as well, I live far away from family and have moved a lot in the last 20 years and it helps stay in touch with everyone! I luckily don't have any facebook friends who are drama lllamas though so that's nice.

trcy
08-31-2017, 08:46 PM
There is a closed group for DD's grade at her school. It's been helpful for answering questions when I don't want to bug the school. Also, some parents will arrange playground meet ups.

Sent from my iPhone using Baby Bargains (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87652)

moonsky
08-31-2017, 08:50 PM
Would it look weird if I joined the group with my new just created FB site with no friends and few pictures?

BDKmom
08-31-2017, 08:51 PM
Our PTA has a Facebook page (not closed), but neither kid has been in a class with one yet. Several classes have used Shutterfly sites for pictures, calendar, sign up lists, class directory, etc. It has a discussion board option, but I find it's rarely used.