PDA

View Full Version : how to accept compliments at work?

♥ms.pacman♥
09-13-2017, 11:47 PM
Wondering if anyone has any tips on how to accept compliments/praise in a work setting? I'm totally awkward about this thing in general. Just smiling and say "thank you" is often all I can think of, but seems so trite in certain situations...

I was completely caught off guard today when i was called aside to a special mtg w/ my boss & his boss. Being the somewhat paranoid person that I am, I was worried all morning that it was going to be something bad - that i was going to get reprimanded for not putting in enough hours (once a week or so i leave at 4:30 to pickup my kids, and often i take long lunch breaks to go work out). I am an engineer and one of only two women in my dept, and one of the few with young kids so I don't stay as late as most others in my dept. And to top it off, very early this morning the CEO sent a company-wide email notifying all employees that they were going to start "targeted workforce reduction" to cut costs so *everyone* was on major pins & needles!! Especially me after seeing i had this meeting..seriously i was doing the mental equivalent of pacing the floor all morning.

to my astonishment, they said they were giving me a special stock award for my work on a particular high-visibility project. i was kind of gobsmacked to be quite honest. it was more than 10% of my salary. apparently this kind of award often only goes out to one person in our dept, has to be approved by the VP, CEO, etc. i did spend a ton of time & effort on leading that project, but i don't usually work crazy hours (not even close, TBH sometimes i wish i had more work), and i felt like I didn't discover anything earth-shattering (though i will admit i did facilitate findings that would result in major $$$ for the company).