PDA

View Full Version : How do you get directions from your phone while driving with your hands free?

JustMe
04-01-2018, 11:44 AM
I wasn't sure how to title this, so hopefully it makes enough sense to have people read this! My state has a hands free cell phone while driving law, which I am happy about. It basically means you are not supposed to even hold the phone while driving. It seems there are ways people can still use their phones for directions when driving alone. I am a very low tech. person, so trying to figure this out. Do those cell phone holders for cars make it so you can do this? Would you then have to have the phone speak the directions? (Asking because I don't buy much data, so that could be a problem). I don't think I could see the directions if they were displayed on my dashboard due tot he distance.

thanks!

doberbrat
04-01-2018, 11:53 AM
cell phone holder on the windshield and it speaks the directions.

My aunt has limited data on her phone and she writes down the directions before leaving the house... defeats the purpose of the phone to me but works for her.

Also I think some maps use more data than others. She's said that WAZE for instance is a data hog but google maps doesnt work as well for her. idk, google works just fine for me.

JustMe
04-01-2018, 12:00 PM
cell phone holder on the windshield and it speaks the directions.

My aunt has limited data on her phone and she writes down the directions before leaving the house... defeats the purpose of the phone to me but works for her.

Also I think some maps use more data than others. She's said that WAZE for instance is a data hog but google maps doesnt work as well for her. idk, google works just fine for me.