PDA

View Full Version : career questions

basil
11-13-2018, 03:14 PM
I've been thinking about this a lot lately. I need to make this decision fairly soon.

Basically, I'm a physician in academics, meaning that in addition to seeing patients I do teaching of residents and med students. I have a leadership role in my department.

My department is failing in many ways. I've been assured by multiple people that it's nothing to do with my leadership, but I have a weepy insecure impostor syndrome moment here or there. In any case, it is stressful to always be on the wrong side of everything, every time. It takes a lot of time and energy that often feels wasted.

My private practice is going well, but I don't think I could do that full time.

My DH and I have always talked about me being part time. As he is up for partnership next year, he will probably be taking on more work/responsibility/hours in his practice. He will also probably be making more money. We have talked about me moving to part time, taking Fridays off. My youngest will be in K, but they have half days every month. I would be able to drop off and pick up, get in a long run, do the shopping for the week, meet any repair people, etc. Every Thursday night I think about how great it would be to start my weekend. And it would make my weekends so much more fun and relaxing not to have to shove Costco runs and weekly meal preps in between kid activities.

But I'm having real problems committing to that decision and announcing it.
1) The way my contract is worded, it's an automatic 20% pay cut, and I would more than likely not be doing 20% less work. We can clearly live without that money, but it's a lot of money.
2) It's not clear whether or not I would need to step down from my leadership position by going part time. I would kind of feel like I was abandoning my department in a time of need.