PDA

View Full Version : Making a Cookie Plate with Kids! What to make?

bisous
12-04-2018, 10:25 AM
We had a family meeting yesterday about what we want to do for Christmas and my kids are very excited about baking cookies and bringing them to families so we’re going to do it. Anyone have any great recipes that they like to use? Two of my kids get way into baking and will be good “helpers”. I’m a tolerable baker but not super skilled at decoration. I’d love to find recipes that are easy and cute and the kids can help me with (and are yummy!)

Got any great ideas?

carolinamama
12-04-2018, 10:35 AM
We always do sugar cookies - I bake them and the kids decorate! I use the kittencal's recipe for dough and icing and find it to be pretty easy and tasty. Should be easy to find using google. Plus kids "messy" decorating is cute no matter what! For easier cookies, I like snickerdoodles. And kids can almost do that one start to finish with only guidance from you. My recipe is from a kids' cookbook I've had since childhood.

Have fun! I love making Christmas cookies!

azzeps
12-04-2018, 10:57 AM
I would make these confetti cookies from Smitten Kitchen, using red, green & white sprinkles: https://smittenkitchen.com/2016/05/confetti-cookies/

They are delicious and fun, and the kids love them.

SnuggleBuggles
12-04-2018, 11:31 AM
Pretzels, hershey’s kisses and m&ms- super simple treat (google it).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basil
12-04-2018, 12:12 PM
Not necessarily Christmasy, but we made some no bake ones with butterscotch chips, peanut butter, Chinese noodles, raisins and peanuts. I may have added the raisins on my own cause my kids like them. They were a good fit for my kids ages cause they could do it all themselves. Which they enjoyed more than a prettier end product.

gatorsmom
12-04-2018, 12:24 PM
Pretzels, hershey’s kisses and m&ms- super simple treat (google it).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk