PDA

View Full Version : I’m seriously thinking 3 of my kids need ADHD diagnoses!

bisous
11-07-2019, 08:02 PM
DS1 was diagnosed at age 5. He couldn’t function in public without medication. He has been doing well for about 10 years now!

On to my other three!

I’ve been talking to my pediatrician about DS2 for about the last 4 years about ADHD. He is academically and socially largely successful. And honestly he still is. But he is starting to complain about distracted thinking. He’s not as successful as he can be. I still wonder if medication will improve his life. Seriously considering going forward with an official diagnosis even though everyone around him thinks he’s not impaired enough?

DS3 has been on my radar since birth. I anticipate an anxiety diagnosis with him. But now I’m getting reports that he isn’t completing his class work and truth be told getting him to do anything at home is very difficult too! So he’s candidate 2.

I’m almost certain DD has ADHD. The difference between her emotional maturity and cognitive ability for one thing but she also has a lot of impulsivity. I’m looking around for some resources for girls with ADHD and will be talking to the pediatrician.

Is it crazy to diagnose 3 kids at once? I’m feeling very overwhelmed. It seems like everyone is very needy and struggling all of a sudden!

Anyone ever diagnose multiple kids at once? Any advice?

georgiegirl
11-07-2019, 10:30 PM
I’m sorry you are dealing with all three at once. I know adhd and anxiety are genetic. All three of my kids have anxiety, but only the middle one is medicated. I think some distractedness isn’t outside the range of normal. I know I get distracted by stuff, especially if I have to work on something boring.

WatchingThemGrow
11-08-2019, 07:46 AM
Our doc wanted us to do the apart from each other, so we waited a couple months.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mommy111
11-08-2019, 09:50 AM