PDA

View Full Version : What is your public school district's or private/ independent school's plan?

ourbabygirl
06-28-2020, 12:09 AM
School starts for most of our state the day after Labor Day, but our state's Dept. of Ed. won't be giving out its recommendations until the end of July. They, and my kids' public school district, are suggesting the 3 options, and a recent survey from our district is asking for our input on what we prefer, as well as if we need bussing, school lunch, technology or WiFi, aftercare, etc.

As a parent and teacher, I prefer either a hybrid or all-in-school model. I feel like having students at school, if at all possible, is better than distance learning.

My friends with kids in private schools already have their plans for the fall, and their plan is to have students in school five days a week. Is it safe to assume that the private schools, with more tuition/ other money to work with and no teachers' unions to advocate for more safety for kids and staff, will be having students in schools five days a week, whereas public schools will be doing distance learning, to err on the safe side, to keep scheduling simpler for parents, and to save costs? Is this your experience, if your schools have communicated their plans by now?

Kindra178
06-28-2020, 07:02 AM
Our districts (high school district is different than k-8) plan to tell us mid July.

Sent from my iPhone using Baby Bargains (http://r.tapatalk.com/byo?rid=87652)

gymnbomb
06-28-2020, 07:16 AM
Our districts have to submit a plan to the state in mid July, but I don’t expect much concrete information until August.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mmsmom
06-28-2020, 07:39 AM
Our private school starts 8/19 and they will announce plans on 7/15. Public school starts 8/17 and plans will be announced this coming week.

ETA: Though I fully expect the plans will have a “subject to change” language.

Liziz
06-28-2020, 07:50 AM