Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default I need some shoulders.....

can I just unload? I need some ears, shoulders and advice... long, so I understand if you want to just click back now.....

I was a teacher before having kids. Had DD in 2003 and suffered severe PPD. got pregnant 6 mos later (I know, what was I thinking, with PPD and all) and had DS in 2004. Of course they are my life, my joy, my reason for living, wanting to be a better person, etc. I love them more than anything in this world. I was a SAHM for 3.5 years but after 2.5 years of it I began to wonder if I would be better off working part time. (I missed the adult/professional interaction and was feeling very bogged down with two toddlers at home - DH worked 14 hour days so I was alone alot). I had felt guilty sending them to an MDO b/c nothing was ever good enough, money was tight b/c I wasn't working and wasn't that my job to be with them, not send them away??? (I know, irrational thinking but remember PPD. Bear with me)

So in March 2006 my old principal asked me to finish the school year for a teacher who had tragically passed away. Of course it was awful circumstances and taking over a class who had had subs for 7 weeks (1st grade) and trying to make a difference in just 11 weeks of the year that was left was a huge challenge. But I LOVED it. So when my principal asked me to return the following year I agreed. I thought this was a "sign" An answer to my dilemma I had been having for the past year (work or nor work?).

(sidenote we also began building a house once I agreed to stay full time)