Annette_C Guest

Default I'm into aerobics for weight loss....(long)

Hi ladies,
    Sorry it took me a while to get to this forum. Unfortunately, I don't get as much free time as I would like to spend here on the board. :(
    Anyway, just wanted to add my 2 cents....
    I've been working out for over 20 years (after my 2 older kids were born I was left with 35 extra lbs!). I did a LOT of research, watched many good programs on health and fitness as well as reading many books on the subject. I went on a diet and exercise program and lost all the weight and more (on my own, at home).
    I was able to keep my weight at the same level for the past 20 years by just cooking lighter and by working out.
    When I got pregnant with Sabrina (surprise, surprise!), I got worried about my weight gain. I didn't want to be foolish, though, and not eat properly. I gained a total of 25 lbs and I went 42 weeks.
    Sabrina was 9 lb 4 oz so, between baby weight, fluids, placenta, etc., I lost 20 lb just by giving birth.
    I was left with 5 and I thought it would be easy to get rid of. Well, those 5 quickly turned into 10 and, for me, that's one to two dress sizes (I'm only 5' 4").
    The problem is that I can't seem to get motivated enough to diet. I still exercise but it won't work unless I diet.
    I've been feeling sorry for myself over the loss of my freedom and having to start all over again just when I thought I was done!
    When I get depressed, I eat to compensate....
    What has always worked for me for weight loss is aerobic exercise with toning. I believe that the only way you'll lose weight is if you sweat it off. Just my opinion. I know not everyone can do it but, for me, yoga has only worked in improving flexibility.
    I do floor aerobics, step aerobics, kick boxing (advanced tae-bo), sprints on my treadmill (3min. walking followed by one min. running for 45 minutes total). I also do legs, abdominals and arms toning exercises.