Chinamama Guest

Default Walking Rock Hip Baby

Heya folks!

I'm new to this part of the boards, and I happened to take a peek at the Walking Rock Farm site tonight on the suggestion of a friend. The Hip Baby looks really cool, but does anyone know if it's comfy?

We're adopting our first child from China in the spring, and I originally bought a Kelty Kangaroo to use as our carrier. Dont get me wrong - I love it, and it's very comfortable. I tried it with my 20 pound nephew, and he fell right to sleep. However its a little bulky to pack, and the Hip Baby looked like it would be a little more compact, not to mention comfortable in the south China heat of late spring.

Our baby is likely to be about 10-12 months old when we get her - any other suggestions for hip-type carriers too?

Thanks a ton!
    Lori

cooper Guest

Default RE: Walking Rock Hip Baby

Why not a wrap or a mei tei-- I love my cuddly wrap! you can see it here-- http://www.peapodcreations.ca as for the mei tei I vote for a sachi carrier http://cherie012.tripod.com/index.html congrats on your new little one! good luck!

JerseyMom Guest

Or and Ergo carrier:

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/

I have one and it is the only carrier for this mama with a bad lower back. This carrier puts the babe's weight on your hips, not your back, meaning I can carry my son longer, more comfortably. I used slings and pouches when he was smaller, but this is the only carrier I pack for travelling and expected long sessions of wearing him. It packs very conveniently. I can wear him on my front or my back, though he prefers the back since he can look around more.

And if that isn't enough of a recommendation, every friend I have lent this carrier to has bought one for themself.

Good luck and congratulations!

Momof3Labs is offline Pink Diamond level (15,000+ posts)