Default New to Carriers- Need Recommendation

I'm pregnant with my 3rd and I'm due in October. With my 1st 2 I used a Baby Bjorn, but generally only when they were much older... I'd like to do more baby wearing this time and I've started doing some research- it's so overwhelming- there are a million different kinds! Maybe someone could give me few recommendations of where to begin... I know I want something

*easy to put on and take off
    *without a lot of material- I don't want to be totally covered up in a baby carrier.
    *suitable from birth. If I have to switch as the baby gets bigger, that's fine.
    *preferably that I can wear while nursing, but this isn't a deal-breaker for me.

I'm average size, if that matters- sz. 8-10, average height. Any advice? TIA!

Amanda

heatherlynn is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default RE: New to Carriers- Need Recommendation

Hi! I am by no means an expert here, but would like to "give back" since so many people have helped me!

I've found that a pouch works really well for me. I've tried lots of carriers and here is my opinion on some:

1. Mei Tai - I had no tolerance for all the straps. Most people love them and I can totally see why, but it was a little too "fussy" for me.

2. Hug-a-Bub or Moby - I had a HAB briefly, but I was preg at the time so I couldn't get it to work so I sold it. I was going to buy another for this baby, but time just got away from me since they're best used up until 15# or so. A Moby is similar to a HAB and a little cheaper.

3. Ergo/Patapum - I had an Ergo but it wasn't comfortable while I was pregnant (can you tell baby #3 was a surprise!?). I just bought a Patapum and am waiting for it to be delivered. I think it will be fine but we'll see.