smkinc is offline Silver level (200+ posts)

Default Has anyone read Adoption After Infertilty?

This was a pivotal book in helping us choose adoption, and I have been recommending it to friends who've had fertility problems.

Just wondering if anyone else found it helpful or not. Should I keep recommending it?

TIA,
    Mary
    Mom to Jeremiah 2/4/03
    and our 'first' Curie (6 year old Golden Retriever)

ghs517 Guest

Default RE: Has anyone read Adoption After Infertilty?

Yes, I would agree that it is a "pivotal" book. It helped lead us to adoption. For others, those first few chapters may lead them to new treatments, to donor exploration, or to living childfree. But that grieving process is so important.

IMHO, keep recommending it.

Newbie here!
    GHS, adoptive mom to Belle, 5 mos.

Kimberly H Guest

We chose adoption because I had my tubes tied after my bio boys and my (second) DH is sterile from diabetes but I don't really consider us as having gone through "infertility" because we never really tried to have a birth child.

However, since an Asian child with Caucasian parents is a novelty in our town, we get a lot of people asking about Mia and telling us things we'd not normally know - like they "can't have children of their own" - so I'd love a great book to suggest.

Would you mind telling me more about this book?

I have my book out on loan, but as I remember, the first 3 chapters cover the options to consider when facing infertility (I read the book 2 years ago and some of the medical info. seemed a little dated then--I don't know if it's been updated since).

The book also laid out a decision process for moving past your infertility--it had reasons people grieve infertility to help you ID what your issues might be to work through. A big point of the book is you must grieve you infertility before moving forward with adoption.

It presented a good discussion about the decision to remain childless, also.