Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Well, I did it.

Judegirl Guest

Default Well, I did it.

I just put a splash of milk in dd's bottle (EBM) for the first time...maybe almost an ounce. She's 11 1/2 months, and while I really, really, wanted to make it to 1 year on BM exclusively, pumping over the past month has been excruciating. And I've been so stressed over whether she will or won't take milk and I'll have to keep pumping...and I just need to be done soon. I have been pumping since she was born, and EPing for almost 10 months. And she drinks a lot, so I pump a lot - 4-5 times a day for 45-60 minutes.

But I feel terrible. She drank the mixed milk and seemed fine with it, but I feel awful. I mean, it was only two more weeks.

It's not as if she hasn't had other foods anyway, so I don't know why this is so hard. But I feel so guilty.

I don't have a question. I guess I just wanted to share with people who might understand how lousy I feel. :(

Thanks,
    Jude

Saartje is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Default RE: Well, I did it.

(((Jude)))

I don't know what else to say but that, so I'll leave it at that. Try not to feel guilty -- doing things "by the baby, not by the calendar" works in both directions, after all ;), and you're trying to do the best you can for your daughter. You're doing a great job. Keep it up.

11 1/2 months is an incredible accomplishment -- you should feel so great about that! An extra couple of weeks in either direction isn't significant, imo.

When I stress about how closely I'm able to follow current recommendations, I just remind myself that recommendations change over time anyway -- twenty years from now, the "experts" will probably have something entirely new to say. (That's what sells books, after all! ;-))

Let's figure 11 1/2 is pretty much a year -- congratulations for meeting your goal!
    Katia

eb1 is offline Gold level (500+ posts)