Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Thanksgiving - Grilled Turkey on gas grill?

This year, it has finally happened. My mother is officially passing the Thanksgiving torch to me. I have a dining room set with leaves(finally!) and real china so I guess that makes me a real grown-up, huh? Since this is my first year I am already thinking about this so I can buy some things (like the turkey baster, thermometer, and enough folding chairs) in advance.
    I am serioulsy thinking about grilling the turkey. Everyone I know who has one this way just raves and raves about doing it this way (ok, not as much as deep frying, but I would most certainly blow up my house so not an option). We have a gas grill. I haven't looked too closely, but I'm assuming the top rack comes out. How do you all do this? Pan - no pan, beer can, rotisserie - all have been suggested on the websites I have found. It seems this is a faster method than the oven, so about how long per pound? I have nighmares of a burnt turkey and having to quickly grill some frozen chicken breasts....Help! Thanks.
    Alaina
    Alex Feb '03

ETA
    Oops- I'll bet this gets moved - I totally forgot about the cooking forums - sorry mods!

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

Default RE: Thanksgiving - Grilled Turkey on gas grill?

Skip the turkey baster. Opening and closing the oven to baste the turkey isn't a great idea. However, if you *brine* your turkey overnight before hand you won't even have to worry! We have been brining our turkey for the past 4-5 years and it makes it so moist and flavorful! :)

This is the method and recipe we use, it is from the Food TV show Good Eats. (check the Food TV website to see when they will be playing their full week of Thanksgiving shows! It's usually a week or 2 before turkey day so you have time to get ideas).

http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/cda/...L-PAGE,00.html