Default Going to Boston (Cambridge) for vacation-need stroller advice

We are travelling to Cambridge, MA and then Vermont (family has a place on Lake Champlain) for a week this summer and I was wanting to bring two macs (volo and quest) for DS and DD. They will want to walk alot (they are 5 and 4) but I want to have a stroller to keep them safe/contained in busy places or when we will need to walk quickly (DD is a "dawdler")

Will the macs be sufficient for Boston? I heard the sidewalks are bumpy. Also, do you gate check your strollers? It's my first time to air travel with kiddoes......

Thanks for any advice!

"Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes......that way you are a mile away and you have their shoes" - unknown

hillview is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

I grew up in Boston and spent a lot of time in Cambridge. Sidewalks are bumpy but for older kids who walk a lot and for a visit should be fine. There are a lot of Macs here (although more air tire strollers). I gate check strollers except for my P&T which I check in the P&T bag. In VT obviously the Macs won't be so great for any dirt paths etc.
    Good luck and have fun -- Cambridge is a wonderful area!
    /hillary

Thanks Hillary!

Awesome, we want to have the strollers for the airport just to make good time (at one layover we only have 40 minutes!)

This may seem like a dumb question but when you gate check a stroller, does that mean they have it waiting for you when you deplane? Also, do you put it in a travel bag to protect it while in flight?

As far as Vermont, we will only use the strollers when in the "city" shopping and at the airport. The rest of the trip will be pretty relaxed and low key with not as much walking at one time, so we should be ok - at 4 and 5 they want to walk most of the time anyway, but the strollers are a necessity when in crowds and to get my daughter MOVING!

Thanks again!!