Question Ferber method - Naps are HORRIBLE! Need help!

Please help! DD has responded pretty well to Ferber method at nighttime, but it is NOT working during the day! She has not slept more than 10 minutes and she usually screams for almost a full 1/2 hour before that. I really don't want to continue to take her out after 10 minutes (like the book suggests, since the 1/2 hour window is therefore over), because I know she's not getting enough sleep!

Her nighttime sleep is from about 8 or 8:30 to 6:30 or 7am. We are trying to put her down for her first nap around 9:20.

I just don't know what to do! Should I just pick her up and try to make her play (we have been doing that and she is ridiculously cranky!) or continue the progressive waiting to see if she will go back to sleep?

This is absolutely awful. I will bear listening to her cry if it is what is best for her but I am just beginning to think I'm doing something wrong! Any input would be greatly appreciated.

WatchingThemGrow is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

Our DS wakes up around 6:30-7 and goes back down for his nap closer to 8:45. Could you try getting that first nap in earlier?

How old is she?

wellyes is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

I agree with the pp, try earlier for that first nap. Mine gets up 7:15 and has her 1st nap around 8:45.

And I'd wait longer to take her out, too --picking her up after 10 minutes is (IMO, based on my bad experience) is just reinforcing that crying works. We treated naps just like bedtime but with a one hour limit. The worst-ever nap on the 1sr day took almost the full hour. 3 days later, she's down in less than 5 minutes, It is HARD, but it works, she goes down quick and naps about 60 minutes each nap, and wakes up cheerful and rested.