Default help! bad shopper and worse cook...

It's not really that I'm a bad cook, I guess, I just need ideas/recipes...I'm not good at throwing together meals myself (I end up at the grocery store multiple times per week). Now that DS is starting to eat more table foods, I need some ideas of meals I can make for DH and myself that translate easily into new finger foods for DS. I still don't want to give him alot of sauces/spices but I hate making two different dinners every night! Does that make sense?

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

Spices and sauces are totally ok, especially the spices. Around the world they don't withhold these and babies do just fine.

Beth

Kestrel is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

I don't want to sound insulting, so please don't take this the wrong way. There's a great book that I have, and have bought for several other people, called "Clueless in the Kitchen: A cookbook for teens and other beginners". I really, really love it, and I've cooked professionally for twenty + years. (Now, only part-time since infant DS.) It is a great basic primer on _scratch_ cooking; great chili, roast a chicken and how to cut it up, make a cake without a mix, ect.