Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Anyone feel guilty about having another baby?

Ok, there *might* have been posts on this before, but I couldn't figure out how to search to find them. DD will be 22 months tomorrow. Baby 2 is due in August- so DD will be a little over 2. I stayed home with DD for the first 14 months. Now, I'm a full time student and she is in daycare. But when she is home and awake, she is glued to me. And really, I'm pretty much ok with that. We do a lot together as a family (music class for DD, playground and walks almost every night, games, reading...). She is the center of our world and she's thriving. At 22 months, she is identifying letters, knows a lot of colors, counts to 15, speaks in sentences...really really thriving. She is also a joyful, rarely fussy kid. I always tell DH we got really lucky with her and her easy demeanor.

So, here's the thing, I feel guilty for having another baby. I know her little world is going to change in a big huge way. She's had our dedicated attention, which she now expects. We haven't started talking about the baby with her yet, we are going to wait a bit longer when it's closer to time for baby. But I have been really emotional worrying about how this baby will affect her. And really, when you love one little person so much, how do you ever love another one as much?? Don't get me wrong, we had to do fertility to have DD and then this baby just happened and we are thrilled! I really am excited, but I still have guilt. I know, I am the crazy hormonal pregnant lady, right? I just really worry about my sweet girl and how she will handle this... Anyone else have these type of feelings before a new baby?

I only have a second but I wanted to tell you that I felt the same way. J was my little mini-me, we would do everything together and I felt so, so guilty for rocking his world.