Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    azazela is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default Need objective opinion - work/maternity leave scenario

I am hoping you guys can help me with a situation. This is going to be long, I am sorry.

Some background: I am currently on maternity leave until September. I work as a school psychologist in a public high school. There is a maternity leave replacement in place for me (also a certified school psychologist) and there are other school psychologists in district.

Here is the situation: there is a court case under way between the school district and a student's family. The district is taking the parents to court because the parents are requesting independent evaluations and the district does not feel they are necessary. Under code, we can't just deny the request, we must take them to court (due process). I evaluated the student a few years ago. My director just called and left me a message. From speaking with my coworker I know that I will be asked to appear in court in late April to be a witness in the case, so that my evaluation/report and its' validity, etc. can be discussed. I have not called my director back yet.

My concern: I am on maternity leave, unpaid. My son will be under two months at the time of the court date. I have not left him with anyone yet. And honestly if I do, I'd much prefer it to be for something fun. We are EBF and we just tried a bottle for the first time (successfully) this week. I have no childcare and will need to ask either my mom or my husband to take a vacation day to watch him if I go. Depending on how long this will take and how far it is from my house I may need to bring a pump with me and find somewhere to pump. I do not want to go and do not think I should have to. I may be subpoenaed. Does that change things?