Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    TxCat is offline Emerald level (3000+ posts)

Red face Need some encouragement re: my 6-wk old...

I don't even know where to begin...

So, my daughter is 6 weeks and I'm so discouraged by her sleep situation at this point, that I'm losing all hope it will ever get better.

Issue 1: She is only sleeping in 1.5-2.5 hr segments at the most, even at night. I had to go back to work for a week and a half when she was 4 weeks (I'm a medical resident), and just before that she was sleeping a 3-3.5 hr stretch at night, even breast-fed (if she had formula, she might go to 4 hrs). Now I'm back home with her, done with work until January, but she seems like she has regressed sleep-wise and now it's these much shorter stretches of sleep. It's killing me! It takes longer at times to get her to sleep than her actual time spent asleep.

Issue 2: She only sleeps in her bouncer. This was a habit that started early by a night nanny that we hired when she was 2 weeks old in preparation for me to go back to work. I expressed concern about it after a week, and the nanny assured me that she could transition to the crib, but I only saw her in there about half of the nights - the other nights she was in the bouncer. Occasionally I can get her to take a nap in her crib or in the bassinet by our bed, but at night she will only sleep in her bouncer or being held, or actually in our bed next to me.

Any words of wisdom? I have the Mindell and Pantley sleep books that I still need to read. I'm also trying to take to heart the many times I've read and been told that you can't spoil a newborn, and my pedi's advice that it doesn't matter where she sleeps or how I get her to sleep for the first 2 months. But, I just can't imagine how things might improve right now.

Feeling defeated by my 8 lb. baby...

wellyes is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

I'm know this is probably more disheartening than reassuring but: