Default Please help me choose corner guards and a fireplace guard!

Hi, I am a complete newbie to babyproofing, so I am posting pictures of our double sided fireplace and our sharp corners. What sort of corner protectors would you recommend for the sharp corners that won't leave marks? What about the fireplace--what's the best way of making it safe for our crawler--soon to be walker?

Thanks so much!
    Attached Images Attached Images

anyone??

hellokitty is offline Pink Diamond level (15,000+ posts)

I wouldn't bother with the corners on the floor molding. As for the fireplace, can you just wrap your super yard (it looks like you have one) around it, so the baby doesn't have access to the fireplace at all? I think that would easiest. I've tried those wrap around things for coffee tables and they are a total PITA and don't stay on well, so I'm not big into any of those wrap around bumpers.
    Mom to 3 LEGO Maniacs

Quote Originally Posted by hellokitty View Post
    I wouldn't bother with the corners on the floor molding. As for the fireplace, can you just wrap your super yard (it looks like you have one) around it, so the baby doesn't have access to the fireplace at all? I think that would easiest. I've tried those wrap around things for coffee tables and they are a total PITA and don't stay on well, so I'm not big into any of those wrap around bumpers.
    Hellokitty--thanks for your input!! Actually, it was my nanny who brought up the fact that we should somehow babyproof the corners because they are sharp...if he crawls up to them and accidentally bumps his head into one of them, it will hurt and depending on the strength of the impact, might even result in a pretty serious bruise. This is all my theoretical speculation though--does your proven experience show that kids learn pretty fast, after doing enough touch and feel, that certain objects, i.e. sharp corners, should be avoided during their crawling explorations??