Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    janine is offline Emerald level (3000+ posts)

Default Why does my baby not like the ergo?

I was late to the Ergo and my DD is now 7 months. I've tried to put her in it a few times and she starts crying and seems uncomfortable. I don't get it because if I carry her in the same position, she's happy.

It could be that I'm a novice and she is new to this and not used to it. Or it could be that I'm doing something wrong, but it looks pretty basic? Last thought I have is that her legs are too chubby? I noticed she had some indentation on her inner thigh after I took her out..
    I so want thisit to work!

rin is offline Emerald level (3000+ posts)

Probably not what you want to hear, but I never could figure out why my DD hated our Ergo. I loved it, totally wanted it to work, but she would get miserable after max 10-15 minutes in it. She did, however, love the Baby Bjorn and now her Kelty Kids backpack carrier, so I think she just never liked the softer carriers where she was pressed into position against someone's body. (We also tried a moby wrap and a mei tei-type carrier, and she hated both of those as well.)

Minnifer is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Maybe she dislikes facing in? DD never really like being pressed up against me and not seeing all that much. I know they can turn their heads but she never seemed all that comfy doing that. I had better luck this time around ditching the Ergo and getting a Beco Gemini, which can be outward facing but is still a comfortable/ergonomic carrier.
    Lucky single mama to DD 5/08 and DS 6/11