Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default cloth diaper, disposable insert - why is it so hard?

So let me start-off by saying we're expecting at this point, and I have no real world experience in diaper changing.

I can't bring myself to do the full cloth system... don't want the extra water costs, can't bring myself to launder it, etc.

But... I did like the idea of a cloth shell with a disposable insert. Seems to be more environmentally friendly, seems like an insert should cost less than a full disposable, etc

All I've found on the disposable insert horizon is Grovia, Flips, and Gdiapers. Gdiaper inserts are the least expensive, but still roughly $.30 each, when disposables are only $.22 each.

Is there anyone out there who uses cloth shells and 100% of the time uses disposable inserts that can help me here or should I just go to Huggies and say screw it?

edurnemk is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

I used gDiapers for a while, but DH flipped at the cost. We went 100% cloth diaper after that.

I love the gDiapers, BUT, be careful with your plumbing, if it's old or you have a septic system DO NOT flush anything (except the poop of course) down the toilet. We never had issues but I know of people who did and then paid a fortune for repairs.

Also if you go the gDiaper route watch the videos on their webpage, so you learn how to get a good fit and not have leaks.

FWIW I love cloth diapering, it's way easier than I expected, we saved a fortune and I didn't see a real difference in our utilities. I started with a trial program (Jillian's Drawers) so I could test it before committing and also so I could see what diaper worked best for us.
    Last edited by edurnemk; 11-28-2012 at 05:32 PM.
    DS 1/08
    DD 7/2012

kaharris83 is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)