Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Whole30 anyone?

LBW is offline Emerald level (3000+ posts)

Default Whole30 anyone?

I've been eating a (mostly) paleo diet for the past year, and I've had amazing results. But, I have found myself slipping a bit in the past couple of months. To restart, I'm doing the Whole30 in January. Anyone want to do it with me?

Basically, Whole30 is 30 days of very clean eating that resets the way you think about meals and is supposed to make you feel great. I've never done it before, but have read a lot of blogs (like this one) that have inspired me to give it a try.

The plan is outlined here and in the book, It Starts With Food. It's really simple, though:

1) Eat real food – meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds.
    2) Do not consume added sugar of any kind, real or artificial.
    3) Do not consume alcohol.
    4) Do not eat grains.
    5) Do not eat legumes.
    6) Do not eat dairy with the exception of clarified butter or ghee.
    7) Do not consume carrageenan, MSG or sulfites.
    8) Do not eat white potatoes.
    9) Do not weigh yourself during the 30 day period.

I cleaned out my pantry & fridge yesterday, and I stocked up on meats & veggies. I'm going to do some menu planning this weekend, too, so that I'm ready to start on Jan 2. I'm pretty excited!
    Tara
    living a crazy life with 3 boys

I am thinking now
    of grief, and of getting past it;
    I feel my boots
    trying to leave the ground,
    I feel my heart
    pumping hard. I want
    to think again of dangerous and noble things.
    I want to be light and frolicsome.
    I want to be improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing,
    as though I had wings.

~Mary Oliver