MSWR0319 is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Default Need Matching Non-Identical Outfits

We have family pictures next month and we are using a really good photographer and paying much more than we normally do. I want to have the boys wear outfits that look good together, but aren't neccessarily identical. Suggestions on good stores where I could find outfits that look nice?? I'm really bad at finding coordinating outfits. Then I need to find some for DH and I!

I am no expert on boy clothes, but knowing ages might help those who are to help you.
    Mommy to my wonderful, HEALTHY twin girls
    6/08 - Preemies no more!

Melbel is online now Diamond level (5000+ posts)

I have read multiple times that it is best to start with your outfit, selecting something you feel good in. Where will the pictures be taken? What will the temperatures be like? Would you prefer for the outfits to be more formal or casual? What is your overall style (i.e. what types of clothes would your family wear to church or out to dinner)?

ETA: Gap and Old Navy are normally safe casual bets for color schemes to coordinate a family (possibly crossing over to Banana Republic for adults)
    Last edited by Melbel; 03-22-2013 at 11:12 PM.

MSWR0319 is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Sorry! I should have included ages. The boys will be 1 and 4.5. We'll be outside at a park. It's hard to tell what the weather will be like, as at the end of April it could be 85 or 45!! I"d like to do something not too dressy, but not super casual.

Good idea to start with my outfit! That's the one I'm already struggling with. I don't even know what to start with me. I wear jeans and a sweatshirt every day since I SAH, and I need to update my wardrobe!

mikala is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Old Navy has some cute roll sleeve shirts for boys that could be worn either way based on the temperature.

http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/category.do?cid=41785