Default Any Tax Preparers here - evaluating 2nd career idea (Long!)

I'm evaluating the idea of becoming a tax preparer (non-accountant) for the next year's season with the goal of eventually building a small side income by preparing individual tax returns as an independent tax preparer. With a baby on the way, a new city with no friends/relatives yet, and DH's career really ramping up, it seems I will be based at home for the foreseeable future. I'd like to do something using my number crunching skills (I'm an engineer) and process improvement/organizing tendencies that allows me to interact with folks.

So one of the ideas I'm vetting is to do tax prep. I'm looking at courses offered this fall by some of the major tax prep companies, which are often followed by an entry-level job offer with them. I was thinking to maybe work with them for the first season to get a solid grasp of the actual product and their workflows and business setup. Then the following year I would try to branch out on my own (incorporating of course, getting liability insurance, etc). It seems pretty low overhead and with the internet/technology I can try to build a network wide and near of clients.

So my questions are: Is anyone doing this? Has anyone done this? Did you train / get started via a different route? Do you enjoy it? Why / why not? Thanks so much!!