Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    egoldber is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

Default Generic Concerta?

After much medication trial and error, we switched younger DD to Concerta in early July and it worked very well for her. We refilled it in August and it looked different. The pharmacist said it was generic, but equivalent. After 2 weeks, I don't think it is equivalent. I also cannot find a picture of this particular pill anywhere on the net, even on the sites that show images for generics for Concerta.

Anyone here using Concerta and have any issues with it?
    Beth, mom to older DD (8/01) and younger DD (10/06) and always missing Leah (4/22 - 5/1/05)

sste is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

I have no concerta experience. But I do think generics can on occasion go wrong. I took generic Wellbutrin last year having taken branded in the past with no ill effects. It was a descent into hell. I am the least suicidal person I know and these terrible dark thoughts were flashing through my mind. I was manic which has never been an issue. All med personnel told me it was my depression (which had been extremely mild not even clinical) and to give the meds more time to help. My husband told me to throw them in the trash and not even taper. I did and all those symptoms vanished. Two months later I believe there was a recall based on the ill effects it was having. Anyway after this experience I am less trusting if drug formulations period in terms of consistency. I would def pay attention to your dd reactions.
    ds 2007
    dd 2010
    baby dd 2014

Oh how awful for you!

Our issue is not that severe. The regular Concerta has a very even time release delivery mechanism vs the two bolus mechanism of most long acting ADHD meds. Concerta has a very particular "bullet" shape that makes it very distinctive. One of the generics is like this, but this generic does not have that distinctive shape. The med seems to have 2 boluses and seems to wear off earlier.