Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Talk to me about nursing clothes!

I had a chance to nurse DD only twice while still in the NICU, then pumped for 6ish weeks but she had terrible milk intolerances and ended up on the medical hypoallergenic formula so I stopped. So I am new to breastfeeding but am planning to nurse her brother, hopefully for at least a year.. Fingers crossed! Anyways, i remember having two nursing bras but they kept giving me terrible clogged ducts and I just ended up wearing a regular spots bra, but I only pumped at home or hospital. How do you ladies do it out there in public, and later when the milk supply is well established? I have a couple sleep nursing bras from Target and two soft ones for daytime that should stretch enough for when milk comes in. Nothing fancy though. Also picked up a nursing tank from T with a built in bra (Bravado knock off) and a cute top from BRU to wear with a bra. I suppose I need a couple more plain tanks? I suppose I could wear any button down top with a nursing bra while out and about, I also looked at the henley style tanks and tees, they seem perfect for access. I cannot imagine wearing a tank and a top over it in our 90 degree summer! I never had any leakage issues while pumping so hoping it will be the same. TIA !
    My sweet and curly haired DD 4
    ...and expecting someone new mid April 2014

basil is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

I used nursing tanks for a year last time, just the regular kind with the shelf bra, but in retrospect I should have used something more supportive. So this time I have 2 nursing bras with more support that I've purchased. Amazon has a surprisingly good selection, as does Nordstrom, and they both have free ship/free returns. I'll probably buy another few once everything is established and my size stabilizes after the baby is born.