Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    tabegle is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default mixing baby cereal with other foods?

Years ago, at my son's 9 month visit (and he was essentially on table food by then) the pediatrician mentioned something that has always stuck with me. She said something about mixing the baby cereal (oatmeal or rice) with yogurt in addition to baby food.

This took me back a step. I had only ever mixed the baby cereal with breastmilk. So, I guess what I'm asking... should I always be mixing the baby cereal with the pureed baby foods? (because I have never done that before). I'm about ready to introduce pureed foods to my dd2.

What have you done? What is normal? Because now that I've got my 3rd kid, I clearly have no idea! lol

I always found the purees to be really soupy, and added baby oatmeal to them to give them some texture and thickness. I don't think it's something you should or shouldn't do, just a matter of personal preference and what your baby likes.
    Green Tea, mom to three

Philly Mom is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Tea View Post
    I always found the purees to be really soupy, and added baby oatmeal to them to give them some texture and thickness. I don't think it's something you should or shouldn't do, just a matter of personal preference and what your baby likes.
    Same here. I added as they got older so they were used to thicker textures to prepare them for table foods. We moved quickly to table foods so this was short lived. I never added to yogurt though. We use plain greek and it is plenty thick.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

I always did that. Figured it made feeding tins shorter to do 2 in 1.

tabegle is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Thanks all. It seems I've been doing this a "non traditional" way in the past.