jgenie is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Default Weight watchers anyone?

I've been working out pretty consistently for three months and have made no progress on losing weight. I know it's my eating habits. I'm thinking of joining WWatchers for three months to see if it makes a difference. Anyone currently doing WW? Online only or meetings too? How are you liking it? Glad you did it or wish you hadn't? Any tips / tricks? TIA

klwa is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

I haven't done weight watchers, but I HAVE been logging my food intake into an app on my phone since August. I've been amazed at how much easier it's been for me to take weight off (30 lbs as of this morning!) by just paying a little better attention to what I'm eating.
    -Kris
    DS (9/05)
    DD (8/08)
    DD (9/12)

anonomom is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

It's been several years since I did WW, but the program did not impress me. Tracking points can work well in tracking food and encouraging smarter choices, but the meetings were not helpful. Mostly, they'd be discussions of what snack foods were the lowest points. :-) Also, give that nearly everyone I ever met in several months of meetings was on their third, fourth or fifth round of WW, I'd have to conclude it's not an effective program for long-term weight loss (and at least one study has borne that out; something like 95% of people who do WW, if they lose any significant weight in the first place, gain it all back within a few years).

That said, I do think tracking one's food can be a good way of keeping an eye on things. I used Spark People to good effect, and have heard good things about Live Strong.
    DC1 -- 2005 DD -- 2009 DS -- 2011

WatchingThemGrow is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)