Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    ray7694 is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Default Would u test for mono

I'm a teacher and have all the symptoms of mono. My strep test came back negative and was told viral. I have had it for 7 days. I don't think u can do anything for mono so would u even get tested and if so at what point?

Hoping it's just a cold virus.

mackmama is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Yes I would why tested because then you will know how long you will be contagious and because mono can cause complications re spleen etc. Hope you feel better soon. I've had mono, and it sucks.

NCGrandma is offline Emerald level (3000+ posts)

I agree -- also, if it's truly mono, you'll have an idea of how long you might be dealing with exhaustion, no energy, prolonged fatigue... (can you tell I'm familiar with mono?) in case you need to plan re: work.

Sent from my iPad using Baby Bargains mobile app

JBaxter is offline Pink Diamond level (15,000+ posts)

yes mono can effect your spleen as well as being contagious get checked.
    Jeana, Momma to 4 fantastic sons

Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you're stupid and make bad decisions

KpbS is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Yes, agree with all PPs. Sorry you are feeling so bad. I've had it twice and it was so rough.
    K

ray7694 is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

What test do they do and how long were you sick before tested? This exhaustion is awful. Anything that helps besides rest?

mackmama is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)