Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Bens Momma is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default WWYD Reporting Autism Diagnosis?

Oldest DS was diagnosed on the autism spectrum with Asperger Syndrome at the end of 1st grade. He's extremely high functioning, has always gotten good grades, and had a 504 plan from grade 2-4, but grew out of the goals and it was recommended at that point that he didn't really need one anymore so he hasn't had one the past few years. Most of his symptoms center around anxiety, being shy (somewhat awkward, but not inappropriate) in social situations, some fine motor weakness (VERY mild), and some trouble transitioning.

Fast forward to this year....we moved, and he's now in middle school (new.) He's doing well in school, has one good/close friend but not really anyone else. He says he likes school and feels he's adjusted to middle school pretty well which I think is true. I was a middle school teacher before having kids and knowing how much social change, more responsibility, etc takes place during these years I was really worried, but I've been pleasantly surprised by him Anyway, his new pediatrician has recommended that we notify the school of his diagnosis and maybe meet with the guidance counselor to give him/her a head's up and see if they want to start a new 504. I have mixed feelings and want to support him. However, despite wishing he had another friend or two, I think he's doing well and don't want him "labelled" or his diagnosis to define him. We did mention it to his teachers at conferences, and every one of them had the same surprised reaction saying they "would never have guessed" other than that he was kind of quiet & shy. So would you just leave well enough alone or would you notify the school guidance counselor and see if they want him re-evaluated for a 504?

Thanks for your support & advice!
    Momma to 2 ACTIVE DS
    and the Third Musketeer