Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    basil is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Default Updated: you are out of your mind

I live in Massachusetts. We just had a pretty big snowstorm during the day yesterday, with about a foot of snow.

I am a physician. While I realize what I signed up for was sometimes having to go in in bad conditions, yesterday I was scheduled for an outpatient clinic with routine follow ups, AM only. PM was my admin time.

Wednesday afternoon, I realized that no patients were going to show up for clinic. Our office called the patients to confirm their appointment and offered the opportunity to reschedule. All the patients that could be reached opted to reschedule. The only patients left on the schedule were those whose phone numbers were wrong or disconnected.

My husband is also a physician and was scheduled to see inpatient consults yesterday, so he had to go in. My nanny really did not want to come to work. My kids' schools were obviously cancelled.

It seemed to me the most likely scenario given the timing of the storm was that we would all come in to work, realize no patients were coming, then turn around and drive home in the worst of the storm. So I told my office manager that I wasn't coming in and to cancel the appointments. She said I did not have the authority to cancel the clinic, and the hospital administration had asked her to report me for trying to cancel it. I emailed the hospital administrator, and explained that it would be absurd to bring in front desk staff, administrative assistants, technicians, etc., when more than likely zero patients would come. This is about 20 people having to make the commute in horrible weather.