Thread: Seriously??

PZMommy is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Default Seriously??

I’ve been teaching for 16 years and have never had this happen before. My school does a winter holiday program. We do two performances at 8:30am and 10:45am. For weeks we send home countless notes about it with the times clearly stated, plus there were at least 2 phone calls, if not more about it. I’ve had it in my weekly newsletter which this parent signed and returned each week. Our show was yesterday. I had a student all upset as he didn’t see his parent at either of the shows. When dad picked him up, dad asked what time he should be back for the show. The parents thought the shows were at 8:30 and 10:45 pm!! Why would we have little kids out that late at night?? Did they not notice the line of parents wrapped around the block waiting to get into the auditorium when they dropped their child off in the morning?? I felt so bad for this child, but this parent used no common sense, nor did they pay any attention to all of the fliers that clearly said 8:30 and 10:30am.

doberbrat is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

poor kid!
    dd1 10/05
    dd2 11/09
    and ... a mini poodle!

♥ms.pacman♥ is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

sadly, i can see this happening. lots of incredibly clueless parents. poor kid.

how old was the kid though? i'm surprised the kid didn't tell the parents the correct time at some point ahead of time. my kids are 3rd and 4th grade and they remind me for days ahead of things like this. maybe not exact time but at least the fact that it was during the school day. that is certainly bizarre.

PZMommy is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)