♥ms.pacman♥ is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Default cruises in March? Newbie here

so DH and I have been toying with the idea of booking a cruise for spring break (early March). seems like from Expedia and the like, there are lots of deals to be had if you book before Jan 1st.

we have only been on one cruise over a decade ago, on our honeymoon, before we had kids. i have so many questions and would love to hear from the more experienced cruisers on this. for this first one we are thinking of something pretty simple (3-5 nights) and something nearby that is driveable (Galveston).

- for a family of 4 (two tweens), what is minimum room size? do u need to get a suite or go with 2 rooms?

- is Carnival cruise line decent, for trave with kids? there are several deals on expedia. the one we did ages ago was Norwegian (NCL) and we liked it well enough.

- i don't get the difference in room price vs . what deck they are on (deck 1 vs deck 9) - is higher better? (seems like it for the added cost?)

- what is considered a good deal? $600 per person (assuming 4-5 days?)

any advice appreciated. if we can find a good deal in the next day or so that would fit our schedule we may do it, if not we may wait until next year or later.

SnuggleBuggles is online now Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

I get seasick so no cruises for me but my parents love it. No to Carnival. The vibe is young adults and they aren’t as well run. My parents were on one during a pending hurricane. All other brands were turning back but theirs pushed on only to hit terrible conditions and have trouble. Now they only cruise on higher end brands. They use Costco as there are always perks with them (credits, activities...)

Sent from my iPhone using Baby Bargains

pharmjenn is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Quote Originally Posted by ♥ms.pacman♥ View Post