Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Rescue my Brussel Sprouts Please

I am new to cooked brussel sprouts. I tried the method where you cook them on the stove stop in a little water--a little too mushy for me. Tonight I tossed 8-10 sprouts with a T of olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roasted them on a sheet pan at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. (I cut off the stems and cut them in half) They looked burnt. They tasted ok but were not golden brown--they were black. Should I decrease the heat? I had them on a lower oven rack. Should I not have cut them in half? Help!! Thanks for any advice!
    Mom to:
    DS '02
    DS '05
    Percy--the wild furry child!!! 2022----
    Simon--the first King Charles cutie 2009-2022
    RIP Andy, the furry first child, 1996-2012

"The task of any religion is not to tell us who we are entitled to hate but to teach us who we are required to love."

mom2binsd is online now Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

No cut in half is good, I roast at 425, I like the outer burnt pieces that flake off.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

essnce629 is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Not sure, since you had already cooked them once.

I roast all my veggies at 465 degrees since I don't like waiting! Nothing is ever burned and usually takes around 20-30 minutes from raw and cut in half. I always check and stir at the 15-20 minute mark.

Sent from my SM-A600P using Tapatalk
    Latia (Birth & Postpartum Doula and Infant Nanny)
    Conner 8/19/03 (My 1st home birthed water baby!)
    Parker 5/23/09 (My 2nd home birthed water baby!)

jgenie is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

I use the first recipe in this thread. We’ve tried other recipes but always come back to this one.

https://windsorpeak.com/vbulletin/sh...you-can-be-too!

niccig is online now Clean Sweep forum moderator

Quote Originally Posted by jgenie View Post
    I use the first recipe in this thread. We’ve tried other recipes but always come back to this one.