Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Kestrel is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Default S/O - why Baby Bargains?

I was a bit surprised to see that everyone on the "what's your field" thread had college, and often advanced degrees. I'm here because I've pretty much always been money-crunched; for many years only avoiding true poverty through a mix of multiple jobs and varying "roommate" situations. But I'm surprised that people with such advanced education are here in a group about bargain hunting.
    What brought you here?

For me, I found out I was pregnant (after years of trying), went to the local Babies 'R Us store, and fell in love with a crib - until I looked at the price and it was more than my car. I knew there had to be a cheaper way, got the book, and here we are.

WatchingThemGrow is online now Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

I started that thread, and it's SO interesting! Well, I'm here because I was a teacher (with a master's degree) and my salary wouldn't cover childcare and essentials very well, so I became a SAHM and found ourselves with 3 babies in 36 mos. We were newlyweds on top of that...and I was experiencing decision fatigue. Had just spent so much effort planning the wedding, figuring out the registry, then having the baby...it was just SO much STUFF to sort through. I was thankful to have found the book Baby Bargains and especially thankful for my aunt who send Baby 411 to us. That "first two weeks" chapter was awesome. We had read all about how to deal with pregnancy but not how to deal with the actual baby.

ETA: I think we owned 9 different strollers over the course of it all. We definitely got a good stroller education here!

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

We were just out of college so money wasn’t tight but we had to be smart. I also hate overpaying for things. Mostly, the book was a super efficient guide to help my research though! I’m still a fan of guide books to aid my research on things.