Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Twoboos is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)

Default Teens and working in Covid

My teen is begging to get a job (lots of bad-timing issues have meant she hasn't had a "real" job beyond babysitting, which she hasn't done since March). But she is looking at places I really don't feel comfortable with, like Dunkin, grocery store, Target, etc.. IMO those are the best teen jobs bc you learn how to deal with the public - those are the kinds of places I worked as a teen. But I don't know if I can agree to put her in those types of places for an 8hr workday.

I don't know what to tell her. But she needs to do something - she is basically laying in her room watching shows or tik tok when not doing her homework or at sports practice/games (done with precautions). She is also driving now so we're paying for every aspect of that including all the activities she goes to (mostly getting food ). It's killing me bc before I was a SAHM I had worked since I was 12, so I never asked my mom for money for stuff that wasn't school related.

DH suggested virtual online tutoring, which might work out as we have a bunch of younger kids in the neighborhood. Maybe I should suck it up and let her get an actual job? Places will be hiring for the holidays so I'm sure she'd get something.

Any thoughts on this? She seems to be struggling lately.
    "Every mother needs a wife." - Amy Poehler, Yes Please

Where do you live? How high risk if your household?

Personally I would not be comfortable with my teen working in a job with lots of close contact with others. We stopped letting DD babysit (her two regular families started asking in June whether she was available). I really hope things are better in the summer because she’s planning on teaching swim lessons.

I think online tutoring is a great idea. There is a big demand for that.
    DD (3/06)
    DS1 (7/09)
    DS2 (8/13)

SnuggleBuggles is online now Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)