Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    basil is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Default Financials of vacation rental property

Dreaming mode here, a bit. I admit I'm a bit of a hobbyist Zillow surfer.

I would love to purchase a ski condo in northern New England...probably southern VT or NH, near a mountain, about 3 hours from where we live. We have a few years to go to pay off our mortgage on our primary house, and then we will be debt free.

I think my kids and I would enjoy it a lot. My DH is not sold....but I think I could convince him if the financials were sound. If we could rent it enough to pay for our taxes/HOA fees, he may agree. We'd need someone to manage it though, so that would cut into our rental income.

There seems to be a possibility my parents would split this with us - they currently own a ski condo in ME that is too small and too far. But have hung onto it because it doesn't cost them to keep it.

How do you go about calculating various scenarios with renting, etc.? What types of things are most important in this type of property? Anyone own a condo in VT/NH and willing to share how that goes?
    DS- 8/11
    DD- 5/14

erosenst is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

We own a condo in Florida that we rent out. A lot depends on your goals - stay even? Make money? Contribute to costs? Two of the three are easier to attain

High level - you really need to list all costs of ownership (insurance, interest if any, taxes, upkeep including stuff that will need to be refreshed to keep renting, management fee, cleaning service etc)

We have done it for 3 years now. Feel free to ask any additional questions here or PM me.

Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

basil is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

Quote Originally Posted by erosenst View Post
    We own a condo in Florida that we rent out. A lot depends on your goals - stay even? Make money? Contribute to costs? Two of the three are easier to attain