Percycat is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default Portable Electronic Piano/Keyboard for accomplished musician recommendation

DS is graduating from high school this year and will go away to college. He's been playing the piano since he was five; plays for his high school jazz and marching bands; plans to take jazz band as an elective next year; likes to compose and improvise.....

I want to get him a keyboard for him to take to college. It needs to have 88 weighted keys, be able to connect to a computer with software that can transcribe music, be portable, and headphone jack. He will have a small private bedroom in a four bedroom dorm suite next year and there is room agains a wall or under his bed to set up the keyboard.

Anyone have a recommendation? We will go to a piano store to get educated and see the options --- but, would love your thoughts. My parents gave me a clavinova when I graduated from college which I took to law school. We still have it and play it regularly. I hope to get DS a quality keyboard that will let him expand his music interest and be with him for a while.

I don't have a price range yet.... I will form the price range after I get more education about what money can buy.

Thanks!