Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Change of career and back to school in your 40s?

I’ve been a SAHM for a long time (10+ years) and I am sooo ready to be back in the workplace. I am in my mid-40s and would like to do something new. I have a bachelor’s in a social science and worked most recently in recruiting.

So - has anyone here gone back to school in your 40s? Changed your career? I’d love to hear about it. What did you study? How was going back to school? I need inspiration as well as practical advice.
    DS 2008
    DD 2010
    DS 2014

mmsmom is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

I was home with kids from 2007-2020. I returned to a similar career in sales at 48 years old but was quickly laid off due to Covid. I got another job last July and it has been great. I love working again! Kids are 12 and 14 so need me less but DH and I both WFH so we can be there to drive them places and for activities. Some days are stressful getting it all in but it is manageable. I did not go back to school but I have friends that have and I truly don’t feel you are ever too old. I think you should find something you enjoy career, income, work/life balance wise and then figure out a path to get there which may or may not require school. I wouldn’t invest in school unless you are sure there is a need and good income potential.

mmsmom is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)