Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Globetrotter is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Default How to help a friend - possible borderline personality disorder

This is a long shot, But I’m hoping one of my fellow researchers has information on this.
    A friend of mine has called me in tears about her husband many times. He’s Sensitive and insecure and accuses her of doing weird things and has even made suicidal comments a few times. Also signs of controlling behavior and clinginess and finding fault with others. Oh and moodiness.. I suspected he could have depression or something, but This morning after another episode involving a social event relating to me, I started looking up borderline personality disorder and… I am no expert but it really looks like a classic case of this.
    He clearly needs diagnosis and support. And my poor friend certainly needs support. She asked me for advice and I told her she should get help for herself first and possibly professional advice on how to proceed. I’m afraid I will give wrong advice, aside from the fact that he has to get therapy. There is no way he will accept that without a fight … There are cultural issues on top of everything else.
    I was going to help her find a therapist for herself first and also maybe some online forums or something relating to this. Of course we don’t even have a diagnosis but I felt chills down my spine as I read the list of symptoms and saw the overlap with his behavior.
    If anyone has experience with this or knows of any support groups, I would appreciate it. Thanks.
    "Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, "What? You, too? I thought I was the only one." C.S. Lewis

I think you are right to suggest that she get therapy to learn how she can deal with her situation. It's not helpful to foist treatment on anyone but the current thinking is that Dialectical Behavior Therapy is the best treatment for BPD.
    DD '06
    DD '14