Reader is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default beginning skiing for teens (East Coast)

My teens want to learn to ski, and DH and I are not winter people. Sledding has been the extent of our winter activities. Where would you go for a beginning ski vacation on the East Coast? Is there anything near/in Virginia or would we need to go further? Since they would be complete beginners I don't know how exotic it needs to be, and something with reasonably priced lesson plans would be great. Thinking of this for Winter 2022 if the world is not shut down and it is safe to travel.

basil is offline Sapphire level (2000+ posts)

How long for? What month?

Probably makes more sense to go further north. Look for something with a lot of green circle trails, preferably that go top to bottom (i.e. not just the small beginner lift). If you're going to go for a week, go somewhere with a nice town. Killington/Pico may work. Mt Snow, Okemo would be fine. Sunapee or Gunstock are small but cute, but maybe not much around there. We tried Attitash last year and weren't too impressed. My home mountain is Sunday River, where I and my kids learned to ski, so I'm partial to there but it's not the most nightlife.
    DS- 8/11
    DD- 5/14

WatchingThemGrow is online now Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)

Mine learned as early elementary kids at Wintergreen, in the Treehouse. We later did ski school lessons at the rental area and they were fine. We haven’t done Winterplace or Snowshoe but we would try those if they’re closer to you. Colorado is a must once they learn, though!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnuggleBuggles is offline Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

Western PA and Deep Creek in MD have a lot of good beginner slopes.

Sent from my iPhone using Baby Bargains

jgenie is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)